About the Awards and Past Winners


Corporate Achievement
This award is presented to an individual or company that demonstrates leadership, innovation, commitment and good corporate citizenship in Metro-Maryland and beyond. The awardee makes a significant and lasting contribution to the local economy and to the community, has set consistently high standards for financial performance, sound management, and sustained growth over a period of many years.

Corporate Social Responsibility
This award is presented to an individual or company that has demonstrated exemplary business practices and dedicated involvement and unyielding commitment to community service and volunteer programs that enrich the lives of residents of Metro-Maryland.

Emeritus Business Leader of the Year
This award is presented to an individual approaching or newly retired and has had a substantial impact on the way business is conducted in Metro Maryland and who has shown, through many years of active and continuing service, a true commitment to the Community.

Green Business Innovator of the Year
This award is presented to an individual or company in Metro-Maryland who demonstrates ecologically-integrated business practices and leads change in the marketplace through the goods and services they provide.

Government Partner of the Year

This award will recognize a public partner that supports the mission of the Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce GovConNet “to recognize the positive economic impact of the government agency presence in our region and to educate and engage the business community in procurement opportunities with the government, prime contractors and each other.”

Business Partner of the Year
The goal is to recognize business that demonstrates excellence in sub-contracting and/or supports small business to accelerate their success and meets the mission of GovConNet “To promote the economic impact of the federal government presence and to advocate on behalf of the contracting community for business opportunities.”

Small Business Leader of the Year
The Small Business Leader award is presented to a successful small business owner or manager with 500 or fewer employees whose business has experienced substantial growth and whose leadership provided a positive impact on the business community in Metro-Maryland.

Spirit of Free Enterprise
This award is presented to an individual or company that is successful in business, a leader in promoting free enterprise and a competitive business climate and actively involved in making Metro-Maryland a great place to live, work and play.

Verl Zanders Emerging Business of the Year

This award is presented to an emerging company on the leading edge of innovation by creating milestones in technology and/or business that has achieved enhanced earnings and contributed to Metro-Maryland’s reputation as an outstanding place to do business. Read about Verl Zanders.


Business Leader of the Year
2011 Randy J. Slager, Catapult Technology (Corporate Leader of the Year)
2010 Don Wood, Federal Realty Investment Trust
2009 H. Thomas Watkins, HGS
2008 David Mott
2007 B. Francis Saul, II, Chevy Chase Bank
2006 Judith McHale, Discovery Communications
2005 Bill Couper, Bank of America
2004 Jack Fitzgerald, Fitzgerald Auto
2003 Bryant Foulger, Foulger Pratt
2002 Tom Ladd, Marriott International
2001 Vance Coffman, Lockheed Martin
2000 Hunter Hollar, Sandy Spring Bank

Corporate Achievement
2017 GEICO
2016 The Whiting-Turner Contracting Company
2015 Sodexo, Inc. 
2014 HUGHES An EchoStar Company
2013 Westat
2012 Lockheed Martin
2009 The JBG Companies
2008 QIAGEN Sciences, Inc.
2007 Information Systems and Global Services, Lockheed Martin
2006 Clark Construction
2005 MedImmune, Inc.
2004 Discovery Communications
2003 Aspen Systems; Human Genome Sciences; Shady Grove Adventist Hospital
2002 Chevy Chase Land Company
2001 Chevy Chase Bank; Legg Mason; Rodgers Consulting, Verizon
2000 Holy Cross Hospital; Marriott International; Lockheed Martin; PEPCO

Corporate Social Responsibility
2017 Kaiser Permanente of the Mid-Atlantic States
2016 CohnReznick LLP
2015 SunTrust Bank
2014 Clark Construction Group, LLC
2013 BB&T
2012 Sandy Spring Bank
2011 Danya International, Inc.
2010 Aronson & Company
2009 TerpSys
2008 Lanigan, Ryan, Malcolm, Doyle, PC
2007 Sodexo
2006 Calvert Asset Management
2005 Esther Newman, Leadership Montgomery
2004 The Gazette
2003 Bob Anastasi, MC Business Roundtable on Education; Comcast; Penny Gladhill, Hospice Caring, Inc.
2002 W. Gregory Wims, Victims' Rights Foundation
2001 Gene Kijowski, Century Pools
2000 Mary Frances LeMat, Social & Scientific Systems

Emeritus Business Leader of the Year
2017 Robert J. Henley, CEO, Henley Construction Company
2016 Kevin Sexton, Holy Cross Health
2015 John McMahon, Chairman, Miller & Long Co., Inc.
2014 Barbara Krumsiek, Calvert Investments
2012 J.W. Marriott, Jr., Marriott International, Inc.
2009 Enos Fry, Efry Inc. Consulting
2008 William F. Peel, Jr. Red Coats; Admiral Security Services; Datawatch Systems
2007 Edmund B. Cronin, WRIT
2006 Charlene Nunley, Montgomery College
2005 John Derrick, PEPCO
2004 Cliff Kendall
2003 Earl Palmer Brown
2002 John R. Tydings
2001 A. Mario Loiederman
2000 John Puente, Telogy Networks

Green Business Innovator of the Year
2017 Fitzgerald Auto Malls
2016 AstraZeneca/MedImmune
2015 EVEN Hotel Rockville
2014 Scott Nash, MOM's Organic Market
2013 Seth Goldman, Honest Tea

Business Partner of the Year
2017 Bloomberg Government
2016 DAI
2015 National Government Services
2014 Northrop Grumman Corporation
2012 Booz Allen Hamilton
2011 L-3 Stratis
2010 Lockheed Martin Corporation

Government Partner of the Year
2017 Emily Murphy, GSA
2016 Pam Monroe, U.S. Army
2015 Donald F. Camden, Chief of the Information Systems Contracting Division at the Defense Intelligence Agency
2014 Mauricio Vera, USAID
2013 United States General Services Administration 
2012 Montgomery County Department of General Services
2011 National Institutes of Health (NIH)
2010 United States Food and Drug Administration  (FDA)

Small Business Leader of the Year
2017 Sophia Parker, DSFederal, Inc.
2016 Ben Edson, VariQ
2015 Cidalia Luis-Akbar and Natalia Luis, M. Luis Construction Co., Inc.
2014 Lisa Firestone, Managed Care Advisors, Inc.
2013 Gerald Shapiro, Shapiro & Duncan, Inc. 
2012 Gregory Knoop, OKKS Studios, Inc.
2011 Linda Houk, Information Systems Solutions, Inc.
2010 Ben Long, Longview International Technology Solutions
2009 Judy Stephenson, OFFICEPRO, Inc.
2008 Sterling Crockett, Sterling Construction
2007 Laura Glynn, Glynn Technologies
2006 Charlie Atwell, Innovative Business Interiors
2005 Jack Hollerbach, Harvest Bank of Maryland
2004 Marcus Johnson, Three Keys Music
2003 John Walsh, Data Quality Solutions; Holly Parker, Idea Flight; Adam Greenberg, Potomac Pizza
2002 Jim Sweet, Smokey Glen Farm
2001 Encore Management Corporation
2000 Nicholas Brown, Affinity Network Solutions

Spirit of Free Enterprise
2017 Jay Sunny Bajaj, Digital Management, LLC
2016 United Solutions
2015 Denizens Brewing Co.
2014 Mike Binko, kloudtrack®
2013 White Flint Partnership
2009 Sue Healy, MyEyeDr.
2008 The Tower Companies
2007 Barbara Keating, Computer Frontiers
2006 Hughes Network Systems
2005 Aris Mardirossian
2004 Gordon Macklin
2003 Sol Graham, Quality Biological, Inc.
2002 Sally Sternbach, AT&T
2001 Janice Minshall, GEICO
2000 Craig Venter, Celera

Verl Zanders Emerging Business of the Year
2017 Xometry
2016 Hungry Harvest
2015 Cellphire, Inc.
2014 WeddingWire
2013 Sanaria, Inc.
2012 BrainScope Company, Inc.
2011 GetWellNetwork :)
2010 Sweetgreen
2009 Radius Technology Group
2008 Get Real Consulting
2007 Honest Tea
2006 Z-Tech Corporation
2005 Master Key Consulting
2004 United Therapeutics; Advancis Pharma; 20/20 Gene Systems; Viryxsis; MedImmune; SourceNet
2003 American Film Institute Silver Theatre and Cultural Center
2002 QIAGEN Sciences, Inc
2001 BioReliance
2000 Comcast

Tagged in: