Public Safety Awards

March 13, 2015 - 11:00am - 2:00pm

41st Annual Public Safety Awards

Location: Bethesda North Marriott and County Conference Center - 5701 Marinelli Road, North Bethesda, MD 20852

The triumphant sound of bagpipes rang through the grand ballroom of the Bethesda North Marriott to mark the 40th Anniversary of the Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce Public Safety Awards Luncheon (PSA) on Friday, March 14, 2014.



PSA is the one day set-aside each year for the  business community to say THANK YOU to public safety for what they do every day, 24/7.

The biggest event of its kind in the DC Metro region,  1200+ members of the business, government and public safety communities applauded honor, valor and courage.

The celebration began with a special  “Meet the Chiefs” reception sponsored by Northrop Grumman. This reception provided an opportunity for leaders of 5 Montgomery County Public Safety agencies, businesses, award winners and their families to connect with each other. This was followed by a popular General Reception sponsored by Cassidian Communications, an Airbus Group, Inc. Company.

In the grand ballroom, MCCC President and CEO Gigi Godwin thanked sponsors and welcomed special guests. Event Chairman Steve Robins, Esq., Lerch, Early & Brewer, Chtd. thanked the PSA Committee and introduced the PSA 40th Anniversary video. WATCH HERE

A Corporate Vital Link Award, sponsored by TD Bank, was presented to Spartan Motors Emergency Response. A Public Safety Government Partner of the Year, sponsored by Motorola Solutions, was presented to United States Department of Homeland Security.

During the valor award ceremony, Erika Gonzalez, NBC News 4 Reporter and Anchor along with PSA Chairman Steve Robins captivated guests by telling the stories behind each of the 12 valor and community service awards that were presented.


U.S. Senator Barbara Mikulski

Governor Martin O'Malley

Montgomery County Executive Ike Leggett

Attorney General Douglas F. Gansler

Comptroller Peter Franchot


RECAP: 39th Annual MCCC Public Safety Awards Luncheon
Friday, March 15, 2013


Event Chairman: Steven A. Robins, Esq., Lerch, Early and Brewer, Chtd.

On Friday, March 15, 2013, the MCCC Board of Directors and the Public Safety Awards Committee recognized the tremendous acts of valor demonstrated by officers of the Montgomery County public safety agencies. The largest event of its kind in the region, 1000+ leaders of the  business community, government, elected officials and the media said THANK YOU to public safety for their service.

The celebration began with a private Meet the Chiefs reception sponsored by Pepco for awardees and special guests.

In the grand ballroom, Senator Ben Cardin, Attorney General Doug Gansler, County Executive Ike Leggett and Montgomery County Council President Nancy Navarro welcomed guests and extended deep appreciation to first responders who keep our community safe.

The Public Safety Government Partner of the Year Award sponsored by Motorola Solutions was presented to the United States Marshals Service Capital Area Regional Fugitive Task Force and the District of Maryland United States Marshal Johnny L. Hughes.

The Public Safety Corporate Vital Link Award sponsored by TD Bank was presented to Verizon.

Event Emcees Tom Costello, NBC News Correspondent and Wendy Rieger, NBC News4 Anchor captivated guests with descriptions of awardee incidents and presented twenty-nne awards.


MCCC Strategic Partners